Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 08 January 2016 - 01:51 PM

I searched the threads, but didn't find one that addressed my question.  I'm new to this, and still picking through what my predecessor did and why...  (I'm fairly good at reading regulations, and I'm convinced that she made some things up as she went in an effort to be difficult)

We're having a "lively discussion" about sinks.  We have a designated handwashing station that isn't used for anything else, which I get.  We also have sinks in our mixing rooms where they're adding preservatives, citric acid, etc.  They were told that they are not allowed to have soap or paper towels at those sinks, because they are not for hand washing.  However, SDS states that if you spill potassium sorbate on your skin, you should wash with soap and water.  Can I provide them with soap and paper towels at these "non-handwashing" sinks?  Do I need signage that the sinks are not for handwashing?  How can I make this work for the employees that are actually doing the mixing, and still follow the regulations?

Or - I'll happily accept "you can't do that, and this is why."

Thank you!

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 08 January 2016 - 02:09 PM

Hi mkelly,

Welcome to the Forum !  :welcome:

Pls inform  the product/process.  It relates to possible Regulatory aspects, eg USDA/USFDA, etc.

Any other particular FS standard involved ?

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

JohnWheat

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 165 posts
  • 60 thanks
Good

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:My Children, Motorsports, Film, Rita Ora and Mila Kunis :)

Posted 08 January 2016 - 02:45 PM

Is there a need for 'Immediate washing' ? If not a big deal then perhaps provide another sink clearly signed for hand wash only?