• Quick Navigation
Photo

Optical sorting a CCP? (seeds)

Share this

Best Answer , 17 May 2016 - 01:13 PM

Hi Dongilles,

If my memory of 2mm metal is correct, you may need to show that yr optical sorter will remove, say, a 2mm ball bearing from a typical flow (or flows).

For glass I have no experience of X-ray validation, maybe a similar sized fragment ?.

Regarding  CCP/PRP/others  this can get complicated/subjective. TBH I was thinking of metal detectors rather than Opt.Sorter.

For example - 

http://www.ifsqn.com...-and-not-a-ccp/

http://www.ifsqn.com...ivity-or-a-ccp/

(the longest [post-wise] thread on the forum afaik)

OPRP is yet another candidate.

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Gilles

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 82 posts
  • 11 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 17 May 2016 - 08:22 AM

Hello,

I have a question that I hope you can help me out with. We have a new optical sorter and we don't know if this needs to be a CCP or not.

Here some information about our company

Industry: We are a packer of seeds for (mostly) the bakery industry.

CCP's: Currently we have our metal detector and x-ray (for small pieces of stone and glass etc.) as CCP's

Processflow: Receiving product --> Cleaning product  (with sives, wind and magnets) --> Optical sorting (here is our new optical sorter) --> X-ray sorting --> Packing (incl metal detection) --> Palletizing --> Transport

The above mentioned processflow is the most steps our product can get subjected to. But depending on the quality of the received product and specification some steps can be skipped. As an example some products only go trought the xray and metal detection, some need to be sorted extra so the will go over the optical sorter then trough the x-ray and then trough the optical sorter again before packing.