• Quick Navigation
Photo

What are your opinions on production doing quality checks?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic
- - - - -

aps

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 166 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 May 2016 - 06:12 PM

Hi

I would like to get some opinions if possible. This is my situation

I am a technical manager of a slaughter and cutting plant. I have two assistants who help me with all the technical stuff, verification etc. We have 7 QC's doing 100% checks on all cuts before we pack.

Production in the boning hall complete hourly metal detection checks and calibration of scales and take label samples of all batches where we check when we can but they check them also. My director has it in his head that Technical should do this check on top of everything else in which my opinion is nonsense as this we have know time with audits, setting standards etc. this to me is a production function. It does not help when the boning manager is crying to him about it.

What are your thoughts, how are you set up? and is this in your opinion correct. Please help me convince him this is not the way to go.

Thanks

Wowie

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 56 posts
  • 22 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Anything outdoors, Reading, Backpacking, Traveling, Good Friends, Good Drinks, Good Music

Posted 25 May 2016 - 07:04 PM

In my experience, every plant within every company handles this a bit differently. Some are able to staff appropriately, some may reduce some QA/QC check frequency in order to perform all checks necessary, and some use production support to help perform checks. (Hint: The trick is to do time studies every now and then and, to use a production phrase, make it work... *cough*)