• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 17 November 2016 - 01:44 PM

Hello,

I have been an avid home cook for some 15 years. I have always been making my own spice blends to use as meat rubs and for various cooking uses. Recently, I decided to give it a go at selling my products.  I purchased over a hundred bottles, lids, seals, made labels, and created new repeatable formulas for my blends. Each blend contains about 10 different dry spices (cumin, various chilies powders, turmeric, mustard, nutmeg, etc...) . I purchased about 30 pounds of spices and did the blending in my home kitchen in New Jersey.

I put this all together and sold two different blends at a private event, where I was given a table to sell to 200 people attending a party. I sold about 70 bottles. This helped me prove my packaging looked good and spices smelled good. Now I will await any feedback on the product once people get to cook with it. 

I hope to now sell at some farmers markets and other places where I can buy a table and prove the viability of my product. I plan to cook with the spice on site and give out samples this time (the prior event was just smelling it). The next goal after that will be getting the product onto shelves are various food stores. 

Down to my questions: I am confused on requirements to make/blend the spices and packing requirements. I am having trouble parsing through the pages of FDA documents.  Which brings me to some questions.

1. Am I required to make the spice blend in a certified kitchen?

2. What about bottling? Is that ok that I am doing that in my kitchen?

3. Do I need a nutritional label considering these are spices?

4. Do I need to state my ingredients? again, considering these are spices.  I often see professionally produced products list some spices then say "and other spices".

5. Do I need to list out the weight?