Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 09 March 2017 - 07:07 PM

Hello to all.  I have completed the PCQI training, and am now in the works of putting it all together.  I am confused, however, because our company is much different than most of the examples presented.  We re-pack or shrink wrap products sent to us directly from our customers, who do the manufacturing.  All packaging cartons for the food are also sent directly from our customers.  All food products are sealed - no exposed food is handled here. Some are RTE w/allergens, some are RTE w/o allergens, some are NRTE w/ allergens, and some are not food at all.  My question is this........ do I have to create separate food safety plans for each category listed above, or can I consolidate - and document the allergen and supply chain controls needed for each product?  Your advice would be much appreciated.  I'm new in the industry, and learning every single day!  Thanks so much!

Ryan M.

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,329 posts
  • 479 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, crosswords, passionate discussions, laughing at US politics.

Posted 09 March 2017 - 10:36 PM

Hi S.sirek and welcome!

On the RTE items, do any of them require chilling/freezing as a method of food safety?  For example, are they low pH, high pH, low moisture, high moisture foods?  This matters because RTE is considered a higher risk, especially if the pH and moisture are in the right ranges.  This is even if you don't expose the food because improper temperature conditions can lead to pathogen outgrowth even if the RTE food has undergone treatment for pathogens of some type (heat, high pressure, etc).