• 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 13 July 2017 - 10:43 AM

Hello everyone,
I hope that someone can help me!!

I am about to start working in a company that basically receive paper in big rolls, cut and print them in sheets.Then this sheets are used by clientes in producing the packaging for food.

The company are iniciating the BRC IOP certificaton, and is allready ISO22000 certified.

I have education and experience in food processing and tecnology, but in the packaging area i have no experience and for that i am having some dificulty in understand what kind of measures and atention to the infraestructure and hygiene it is need to have for this kind of production, regardling to a BRC/IOP standard.
What kind of hazards and risks is normal to this type of production?
What level of hygiene (personal, infraestructure) it is required?

If someone with experience in this area of production and BRC packaging standard could help me, i apreciate.

Thank you.

charbear

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 64 posts
  • 6 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 13 July 2017 - 12:51 PM

Hello! I work for a food contact manufacturer as well (wax paper products). Our product scope sounds similar to yours. We are seeking SQF but I believe the BRC standards regarding GMP's are probably in the ball park. Hygiene basics would include hairnets, beard nets, possibly gloves, no jewelry, hand washing before coming into the production area, no food, drinks, or cell phone usage in production etc. Hazards should be included in your HACCP plan. If you are not familiar with your company's HACCP that would be the place to start so your aware of the critical control points in your production processes. Hope this helps good luck to you!  :spoton:

Thanked by 1 Member:

Neto

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 17 July 2017 - 09:42 AM

Thankyou charbear, i apreciate your response.