• IFSQN Associate
  • 5 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 26 November 2017 - 12:08 AM

Hi everyone,

I work as a Food Safety Manager in a medium sized bakery. We have 11 bait stations strategically installed around our bakery building. For several months, there was no rat activity observed in any of these baits (the pest company comes in monthly to check it) but in October, 3 of the baits were attacked by Rats. This month of November, it increased to 5 bait attacks. Please how do you advise i go about this to end the rat activity around the building and prevent them from getting into the building.Is there something we can use or do to stop this growing trend?

Thank you in advance!

itreatpets

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 73 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 27 November 2017 - 03:18 PM

Depending on your location, the increased activity is likely related to the weather getting colder and rats looking for a home for the winter months.

If you or your Pest control company isn't already doing this I suggest..

-Look for openings or entry routes into the building and fix them. Mice only need a space the size of a pencil to squeeze thought. (Trick I have learned is during daylight, turn off all lights inside the building and look for light shining in. Keep a flashlight handy and be careful not to trip!)

-Major clean up of all the nooks and crannies around the building so they don't have a place to hide or nest.

-Keep a clear perimeter around the building, so nothing is stacked next to the building and the garbage bins are kept at a maximum distance from the building. 

I hope this helps.

Thanked by 1 Member:

TimGoss

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 21 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 27 November 2017 - 09:05 PM

Hello Chizzyo,

itreatpets nailed it with "If you or your Pest control company isn't already doing this...."