• Quick Navigation
Photo

Can you freeze meat carcass on last day of shelf life?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

Ahmed Ashour

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Egypt
    Egypt

Posted 29 April 2018 - 07:56 PM

Greetings! I am a food safety researcher. Some meat retailers ask me this question. Suppose we have a carcass that is intended for sale held at a temperature of 4 Celsius for 5 days. On day 5 which is considered the last day in the carcass shelf life, can we freeze this carcass to a temperature of -18 to prevent its spoilage and to extend its shelf life?

Also, on day 5, can we grind the meat from this carcass to be sold as minced meat after adding some salt and other preservatives?

Thanks!
Ahmed

Jose 007

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 30 April 2018 - 04:48 AM

On the Food Safety side you I would suggest that you perform an actual microbial analysis of your meat from the very condition it is stored for 5 days just to check the microbial flora of your meat. I cannot directly say  that it is OK since different retailers have different set of people who have their own mind set in handling food products. An actual microbial analysis on the 5th day done on 30 sampling dates will surely give you he answer.

Quality-wise on the point of view of a food scientist, prolonged staging of meat at chilled temperature will cause its water loss (I think it is called drip loss). Allowing this to happen is not advisable since this might cause lack of tenderness in its final product.