• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Australia
    Australia

Posted 24 June 2018 - 02:28 PM

Hi all, 

I am a Malaysian doctor who currently lives in Australia. 

Recently it's become a hot discussion topic in Malaysia regarding the hygiene standard of migrant food handlers (mostly from poorer countries e.g. Bangladesh, India, Nepal etc) - anecdotally many of these migrant food handlers are noted to have poor food preparation standard and personal hygiene habits. 

A news report then cited a research study done by a Malaysian researcher (I have included the actual PDF below). Essentially the methodology is as below: 

- migrant food handlers are investigated

- a few restaurants in major Malaysian town are visited during peak hour, where these migrant food handlers have hand swabs taken on UNWASHED hands, on both hands. 

- these are analysed for APC, E. coli / coliform, and Staph aureus. 

- Sneed's standard is used for "acceptable level" - (less than 1.3 log10CFU for APC, less than 1.0 log10CFU for Enterobacteriaceae counts, and less than 1.0 log10CFU for S aureus counts). - PDF included. 

- they reported some shocking finding: 99.5% exceeded APC limit, 20.8% exceeded total coliform/Escherichia coli limit, 63.4% exceeded Staphylococcus aureus limit. 

Some of my concerns about its methodology: 

- local food handlers are not included so no point of reference. 

- Sneed's standard is for food handling surfaces e.g. cutting board. I haven't seen any validation study saying that these are usable for human hand swabs. 

- Is it legitimate to use unwashed hands? I thought surface swabs and hand swabs are supposed to be taken after they are WASHED. 

- Sneed's standard... it's a bit vague, but I am of the impression it should have "per cm^2" on them.  

- The only standard I have read is the Indian EIC guideline, where it is 100CFU/cm^2 for APC, and absent for both coliform and S aureus.