• Quick Navigation
Photo

Anyone have a general list of prohibit prior commodities for grain?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

jfox1

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 54 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 October 2018 - 02:29 PM

Looking to see if anyone has a general list of prohibit prior commodities for grain? We have a list but it was before my time and we are getting lots of push back on it specifically because we require a washout if the previous commodity is on the list. Let me know if you guys have anything. I attached what we have now. I am new to the industry so I have a lot to learn. 

Attached Files

Sabear

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 60 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 October 2018 - 03:37 PM

Is the bulk product packaged?

I also deal with bulk seed product. From the farm, they must be cleaned. But we only use trucks that previous held other dry products hopper or open top.

After we process it (still in the raw form) trucks must be cleaned prior to arriving at the facility. They are not allowed to clean their trucks on our property, so we will reject them.

My only concern with washing out trucks is if they aren't completely dried before loading you'll risk the possibility of increasing your micro hazards (ie Salmonella)

Thanked by 1 Member:

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,486 posts
  • 1511 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 11 October 2018 - 01:52 PM

that's an odd list..........i see unborn animal carcasses...........but no mention of just animal carcasses?  So a rendering truck without a wash could be used for grain without a wash??

If you getting push back about trucks being washed perhaps you could:

List the items on the list you attached and then in a second column list the reasons why

See what the MRL levels are for those items and match it agains the MRL for your products