• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Italy
    Italy

Posted 17 October 2018 - 09:26 AM

Good morning all,

I'm a QA technician for an italian factory. Now i'm working for re-doing our procedure for supplier approval.

at the moment i'm concentating on the criteria (i have followed BRC 8.0) that we want to use to qualifying a supplier. I think that the criteria is: a supplier can ensure me the safety and legality of the product(s) supplied?

So I thought that a supplier that have a GFSI certification have the minimum requisites for approval, and i've built the flow chart attached.

Do you think that it can be accepted without any challenge/dispute by a GFSI auditor?

Attached Files

pHruit

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,071 posts
  • 849 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 17 October 2018 - 01:36 PM

I'd add traceability to the questionnaire every three years for the low risk non-GFSI suppliers, as you're obliged to by the standard.

For the high risk ones, I'd suggest audit performed "according to risk assessment and at least every three years", as your initial audit and/or on-going monitoring may identify suppliers whom you'd need to visit more frequently.

Thanked by 1 Member:

g.mascolo1983

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Italy
    Italy

Posted 18 October 2018 - 02:40 PM

Hi pHruit,

thank you for your consideration. I have appreciated and I'll do exactly what you have suggested.

But maybe i'm not well explained myself....my doubt is: a GFSI auditor can accept the criteria:  GFSI certification --> automatically approved. Or we should ask to a GFSI certified supplier some additional documentation for a better "general vision" of the supplier?