Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 25 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 14 December 2018 - 07:17 PM

I am looking at a new method of allergen testing within my facility. We produce fresh dairy products that have many inclusions and different types of allergens. I have some experience with  AllerSnap and the facility was using ATP Allergen testing prior to my arrival. 

I am not overly familiar with the ATP system that was in place when I began at this facility and have mixed feelings about it based on our current fluctuation in results. 

Hope some of you can provide some information on your methods and pros or cons of the one your are currently using. Also if there is any other methods that are effective and I may not be considering. 

Thanks so much for any input.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 14 December 2018 - 09:52 PM

I am looking at a new method of allergen testing within my facility. We produce fresh dairy products that have many inclusions and different types of allergens. I have some experience with  AllerSnap and the facility was using ATP Allergen testing prior to my arrival. 

I am not overly familiar with the ATP system that was in place when I began at this facility and have mixed feelings about it based on our current fluctuation in results. 

Hope some of you can provide some information on your methods and pros or cons of the one your are currently using. Also if there is any other methods that are effective and I may not be considering. 

Thanks so much for any input.

Hi imacfarland,

afaik a positive ATP result does not prove existence of an allergen. And similarly a negative one unless you can validate the correlation for the specific cases.

Generally allergen testing requires allergen-specific methods.

Which allergens are you interested in ?

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

lmacfarland

Grade - AIFSQN