Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Is Barley Flour an allergen in a storage facility?

Barley Flour

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 DGADBERRY

DGADBERRY

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • Earth
    Earth

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:02 PM

Does Barley Flour need to be treated as an allergen in a storage facility?



#2 GPG

GPG

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:22 PM

Dave,

 

This is a great question.    I hope someone will chime in on this as I have been curious myself. 

 

GPG



#3 The Food Scientist

The Food Scientist

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 393 posts
  • 88 thanks
55
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Food Science, Nature, SQF, Learning, Trying out new foods, Sarcasm.

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:36 PM

This will answer your question:

 

https://www.fda.gov/...d-food-labeling

 

Barley contains Gluten, and Gluten is an allergen. Most people who are allergic to Wheat are also allergic to Barley. So I don't see why you would not consider it an allergen during storage, although Wheat is identified as a major food containing allergen by law. (in labeling too).


Edited by The Food Scientist, 17 May 2019 - 02:42 PM.

Everything in food is science. The only subjective part is when you eat it. - Alton Brown.


#4 SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

    SQFconsultant

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,818 posts
  • 431 thanks
307
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:SQF, Learning to play the Saxophone, Learning Spanish, MicroGreen Start-up funder, Discovering Panama

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:46 PM

Barley flour is considered an allergen.


Warm regards,

 

 

Glenn Oster

Glenn Oster Consulting, LLC

 

SQF On-Site System Development & Implementation Consultant

You can DIY or Bring in the Professionals 

 

Small to Mid-Size Food, Food Packaging & Food Logistic/Storage 

SQF GAP Analysis of Operational & Capital Needs

Internal Auditor Training Program / United States of America, Canada & Centro America

772.646.4115 USA // glenn@glennosterconsulting.com

Boquete, Panama & Yorktown, Virginia USA

www.GlennOsterConsulting.com

 

 

SQF Pre-Development GAP Analysis -

Operational & Capital Compliance

https://bit.ly/2UeemhP

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


#5 GPG

GPG

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:47 PM

Lot of information in that link about barley containing gluten but i want to better understand the warehousing practice for barley flour and whether it should be handled and/stored like one of the big 8

 

thanks in advance



#6 zanorias

zanorias

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 451 posts
  • 105 thanks
75
Excellent

  • United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Food Safety, Science, Paddle-boarding, Nature

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:51 PM

Dgadberry where are you based? It may depend on location as I know there are differences between USA and Europe when it comes to "defined" allergens.

 

In the EU, barley is considered an allergen (containing) food.

 

TheAnnex IIallergens are:

 Cereals containing gluten namely wheat(such asspelt and Khorasanwheat), rye, barley, oatsandtheir hybridised strainsand products thereof, except:

a) wheat based glucose syrups including dextrose

b) wheat based maltodextrins

c) glucose syrups based on barley

d) cereals used for making



#7 DGADBERRY

DGADBERRY

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • Earth
    Earth

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:55 PM

Based in the USA, we know it's not listed on the big 8 but does contain gluten...want to make sure we correctly handle.  thanks everyone for the responses!



#8 The Food Scientist

The Food Scientist

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 393 posts
  • 88 thanks
55
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Food Science, Nature, SQF, Learning, Trying out new foods, Sarcasm.

Posted 17 May 2019 - 02:58 PM

Dgadberry where are you based? It may depend on location as I know there are differences between USA and Europe when it comes to "defined" allergens.

 

In the EU, barley is considered an allergen (containing) food.

 

TheAnnex IIallergens are:

 Cereals containing gluten namely wheat(such asspelt and Khorasanwheat), rye, barley, oatsandtheir hybridised strainsand products thereof, except:

a) wheat based glucose syrups including dextrose

b) wheat based maltodextrins

c) glucose syrups based on barley

d) cereals used for making

 

That's interesting that they mentioned "oats" as containing gluten after barley, because they do not naturally contain gluten 


Everything in food is science. The only subjective part is when you eat it. - Alton Brown.


#9 kfromNE

kfromNE

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 207 posts
  • 62 thanks
37
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 17 May 2019 - 03:05 PM

Like many have stated: Barley would not be considered an allergen in the US (wheat is considered one of the Big 8 but not gluten in the US). However if you are wanting to control for gluten, then you need to treat it like an allergen.

 

The Food Scientist, while oats don't contain gluten, people with celiac disease are told to watch out for oats because the risk of cross contact is high.

 

https://www.beyondce...uten-free/oats/



#10 The Food Scientist

The Food Scientist

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 393 posts
  • 88 thanks
55
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Food Science, Nature, SQF, Learning, Trying out new foods, Sarcasm.

Posted 17 May 2019 - 03:09 PM

Like many have stated: Barley would not be considered an allergen in the US (wheat is considered one of the Big 8 but not gluten in the US). However if you are wanting to control for gluten, then you need to treat it like an allergen.

 

The Food Scientist, while oats don't contain gluten, people with celiac disease are told to watch out for oats because the risk of cross contact is high.

 

https://www.beyondce...uten-free/oats/

Yes contact risk is correct. However in my opinion,  it's very false to say they contain Gluten and listing them among gluten containing grains. 


Everything in food is science. The only subjective part is when you eat it. - Alton Brown.


#11 zanorias

zanorias

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 451 posts
  • 105 thanks
75
Excellent

  • United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Interests:Motorcycling, Food Safety, Science, Paddle-boarding, Nature

Posted 17 May 2019 - 03:51 PM

"are oats allergens" is always an interesting one. Below is a recent thread on the topic, information in which will likely answer several of the questions I anticipate about to arise in this thread.

 

https://www.ifsqn.co...gen#entry139043






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

EV SSL Certificate