• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 July 2019 - 01:09 PM

Hello all,

I am new to the vegetable industry - so I do not have a lot of insight on this topic, but I need some help.

At my facility we run a number of vegetables and typically do not have any issues with our process, other than with Brussel Sprouts.

We receive them, wash them, blanch them, then add them into a jar or can with a brine, cook them in a pasteurizer and then package and ship.

As of this year, we have seen purple discoloration on the sprouts, after they have been cooked and are left to set for a week. We thought it might be from the crushed red pepper ingredients mixing into the brine and causing the color change. We use Sodium Metabisulfite to prevent the color change, however certain customers (Whole Foods) does not allow this ingredient to be added. We are currently testing Citric Acid to see if this will prevent the discoloration. We are not over-blanching or overcooking in our thermal process.

Does anyone know why they are changing color? Ways to prevent this from occurring?

Thank you for the help! 

AHJ

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 21 posts
  • 12 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 July 2019 - 01:37 PM

*This has nothing to do with food safety and I am not in the vegetable industry. Perhaps it might be related though... 

In college (chemistry major) we did an experiment on pH and used cabbage juice to indicate acidity because it turned various shades of purple and pink throughout the pH scale. Brussel sprouts are in the cabbage family and your post reminded me of that experiment. 

I hope you find a real answer but maybe it has something to do with acidity? 

The Food Scientist

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,057 posts
  • 268 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Food Science, Nature, SQF, Learning, Trying out new foods, Sarcasm.