• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:22 PM

Hello All, 

We package RTE shrimp, RTE deviled crabs, value added fried fish products, and fresh seafood and vegetable meals. 

My colleague was looking at new overwrap machines and took away some questions concerning the overwrap film that is used.

We are wondering:

Is there a requirement on thickness?

Is there a requirement of OTR 10k?

Is there any other requirements?

Are there specific FDA regulations I am not finding?

We are new to this particular item and are hoping for more information

Thank you!

majoy

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 243 posts
  • 92 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 16 July 2019 - 02:31 PM

I am no expert on this topic, but just giving you a general idea of what we usually look for our film suppliers.

So the questions is what material is the film wrap? I am assuming this is a food contact over wrap film for the products you are producing.

I usually encounter polyethylene and polypropylene type of films used as direct food contact. There is a test that they conduct for these type of films, something that sounds like solvent extraction test to withstand various applications.

Is the film wrap printed or just plain? If printed, then you have to also look into the ink used for the printing process, although ink is not considered by FDA  as indirect food additive.

Is this a flow wrap or shrink wrap? again different material is used for shrink or flow wrap application.

The gauge is dependent on your application and the machine you will use to wrap the products, as this will affect the cutting/ sealing / temperature of machine etc.

Here is the CFR for polymers so you can read (if you can understand, this is too technical for me)

https://www.ecfr.gov...177_main_02.tpl