Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 17 October 2019 - 02:09 PM

I'm a high school student trying to craft my science fair research project. I want to perform an experiment to test different cleaning methods on the presence of the peanut allergen on a non-porous surface. I was doing some research, and all of the available environmental test kits appear to be qualitative or semi-quantitative. One of the project requirements is that the dependent variable must be quantitative. Is there any available environmental allergen test that is quantitative? (I have checked Neogen, maybe I missed something) The cheaper the better, however I understand that a test that meets these specifications will be somewhat expensive.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 17 October 2019 - 02:26 PM

I'm a high school student trying to craft my science fair research project. I want to perform an experiment to test different cleaning methods on the presence of the peanut allergen on a non-porous surface. I was doing some research, and all of the available environmental test kits appear to be qualitative or semi-quantitative. One of the project requirements is that the dependent variable must be quantitative. Is there any available environmental allergen test that is quantitative? (I have checked Neogen, maybe I missed something) The cheaper the better, however I understand that a test that meets these specifications will be somewhat expensive.

Hi cmo,

Yes, you maybe missed something, Or perhaps it depends on semantics.

From Neogen documentation -

B.   Quantitative tests

Neogen’s Veratox and BioKits test kits determine the concentration of a target food allergen in ingredients, liquids, clean-in-place rinses and in finished foods.