Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 196 posts
  • 61 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 28 October 2019 - 03:49 PM

I'm pretty new to the world of organic and I'm at a bit of a loss.

We are planning to open up a new liquid sugar line.  The process is, in brief, to melt finished RTE sugar into water and ship it.  We only have 1 melting tank, a couple storage tanks, and one set of sealed pipework leading to a discharge point where the trucks are loaded.  

We currently use RTE non-organic certified cane sugar (non-GMO project verified).   My boss is asking about us purchasing organic certified RTE cane sugar.  He then went further and asked about using beet sugar on occasion, which IS genetically modified and thus not organic or non-GMO certified.

I don't see how we can manage that with all the shared equipment.  Especially in the closed pipework.  I'm not sure if there's anything we can 'flush through' the line that would be able to be validated on all the turns and not ruin the organic status.  But maybe I'm just 'over thinking' how hard it is to remove all the residue from the last batch?

Thoughts, insights, and direction are appreciated! 

Njaquino

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 145 posts
  • 46 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 28 October 2019 - 06:43 PM

Hello, 

I have mainly worked on dedicated organic facility, this is an interesting question you pose. I have not come across it but based on what I know it may not qualify as organic. I do not know how you could prove that there is no residual. I am thinking of CIPing the system with organic approved chemicals then swabbing. But a swab wouldn't tell you if you have left over non-organic material. 

I have asked one of my good friends who work for an organic CB to see if there is any way to get around it. I want to know as well. 

Ryan M.

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,327 posts
  • 479 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States