Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 13 November 2019 - 03:38 PM

Hello! I am a Sanitation manager in a small, organic food packaging facility. We are a small company and we do not cook, process or manufacture any food products.  We are basically a co-packer. We receive bulk product and we package and label it with labels that also come from customers. My question is, since i don't actually deal with "ingredients" per say, do i need to test for all allergens listed on the label if there are more than one? For example, we are running a probiotic  that contains both gluten and coconut oil. Even though coconut oil is not a big 8 allergen, it can still be considered an allergen and I do coconut tests quite a lot here.  And if i do test for both allergens, should i test the same spots for both allergens? I have been at this job for about 2 years, but I am still learning and this topic in particular is really confusing to me. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,668 posts
  • 1140 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 13 November 2019 - 04:00 PM

Coconut is a tree nut

Tree nuts are a category on the big 8.

All the Best,

All Rights Reserved,

Without Prejudice,

Glenn Oster.

Glenn Oster Consulting, LLC -

SQF System Development | Internal Auditor Training | eConsultant

Martha's Vineyard Island, MA - Restored Republic

http://www.GCEMVI.XYZ

http://www.GlennOster.com

QAGB

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 685 posts
  • 262 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 13 November 2019 - 04:00 PM