Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo
- - - - -

FDA labeling for konjac jelly


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

jcieslowski

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 173 posts
  • 57 thanks
25
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 November 2020 - 06:57 PM

Anyone know where this product falls in labeling requirements?  Or even statement of identity? I don't think you'd have to put  konjac jelly as the statement of identity, but maybe you do? Like would you have to say "Strawberry flavored konjac jelly"?  For those who don't know, konjac is basically an Asian plant based gelatin substitute. Is this considered just a plant product? "Strawberry flavored plant jelly" ?  Thoughts / direction are appreciated.  

 

 



olenazh

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,117 posts
  • 350 thanks
339
Excellent

  • Canada
    Canada
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Toronto
  • Interests:My job, church, reading, gym, horror movies

Posted 30 November 2020 - 07:05 PM

I've never had experience with this kind of products, but my thought is that the statement should not be misleading - and in your case, the word "konjac" might be confused with liquor cognac (to me - it sounds like that!) 



Thanked by 1 Member:

SQFconsultant

    SQFconsultant

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,108 posts
  • 1028 thanks
938
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:American Patriot
    WWG1WGA
    Never give up, never give in - always win!
    Banking off of the northwest wind; Sailing on summer breeze! I am home now on Martha's Vineyard Island

Posted 30 November 2020 - 07:23 PM

Konjac would need to go on the label. 

 

Interestingly enough we have a package of Konjac Root noodles here and also use the Konjac Root powder as a sugar absorber... eat a piece of pie for instance, take 3-4 capsules and it absorbs the sugar - amazing stuff.

 

Some people have reactions to Konjac even though it is not considered an allergen or sensitizing ingredient.


Kind regards,
Glenn Oster

GOC GROUP |FREE Currency Revaluation, XRP, XLM, XDC & CV Nano-Shedding Consultant

Visit our Telegram website -
www.GlennOster.com

Thanked by 1 Member:

jcieslowski

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 173 posts
  • 57 thanks
25
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 November 2020 - 08:02 PM

I've never had experience with this kind of products, but my thought is that the statement should not be misleading - and in your case, the word "konjac" might be confused with liquor cognac (to me - it sounds like that!) 

 

I thought that too and that's why I was asking!  

 

 

Konjac would need to go on the label. 

 

Interestingly enough we have a package of Konjac Root noodles here and also use the Konjac Root powder as a sugar absorber... eat a piece of pie for instance, take 3-4 capsules and it absorbs the sugar - amazing stuff.

 

Some people have reactions to Konjac even though it is not considered an allergen or sensitizing ingredient.

 

Thank you for the info.  So" Konjac Root Snack" might be ok?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users