Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 22 June 2021 - 05:01 AM

Hi, I'm a professional cake baker and I've been working in a shop for about 5 years. The cake I make has good demand and also gets a good response from our customers. The problem we are facing now is that the tools we use are now obsolete. So we are planning to replace it with a new one. Mainly we need a modern commercial freezer to display the cakes we make in front of the customers. It's a must-have for any baking shop and it also helps to ensure food safety for the customers. Considering our present financial condition we would rather purchase a branded refurbished equipment than a new one. We have heard that we get good refurbished equipment that is not used for a long time. Anyone has tried it before? Whatever your opinion, please share it and it will be very helpful for me!

Evans X.

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 331 posts
  • 157 thanks
Excellent

• Greece
    Greece
  • Interests:Food safety, Lab quality, Reading, Online&board gaming, Movies&series, Basketball.

Posted 22 June 2021 - 07:56 AM

Greetings Markz,

Yes you can buy refurbished equipment, there is no problem with that as long as you perform the needed actions to make certain it works properly. Meaning that apart from the technical control that will show you it works without problems/breakdowns even make unnecessary noises that could indicate a problem, you will also need to ensure it will reach and hold the temperatures you need it for.

I know it entails a cost but you could have it calibrated or at the very least compare it against a calibrated thermometer (this would be easier, as you already might have one and it will be of lower cost to buy and calibrate one if you don't).