Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 August 2021 - 08:58 AM

Hi is anyone aware of, or have experience of, software for logging and tracking samples and testing? Perhaps something that, when given parameters, can advise on testing requirements and also where results can be recorded so information can be easily extracted. At the moment we are using a number of old spreadsheets and it is less than optimal. I have no experience of LIMS systems but something tells me there must be a way a LIMS system could be used by a food manufacturing company to record both supplier raw material samples and samples of shipped and processed items, not only record but inform user of testing requirements. Also, where results from analysis sent by suppliers can be recorded, even if there is no physical sample. But not something so rigid it can't be over-ruled if that makes sense. Appreciate your thoughts...

Kanchankhadka

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 03 August 2021 - 04:48 PM

HI @Hermitical ,

Have you considered utilizing either Google or Microsoft's "FORM" feature? 

Basically, you create a Google/Msf form that is linked to an excel sheet to record sample entries. You can either make separate forms - one for internal samples (raw material/finished product) and one from external samples (samples that supplier sent out). 

OR,

One inclusive forms that branches conditionally to different section based on selected options- for example: you can have multiple choice questions in first section :

Question: "Is this Raw material sample or Finished Product?"   

Answer: Raw Material        Finished Product

(Say Raw Material was selected; it will then ask you)

Question: "Is this sample sent internally or by the supplier of the product?"

Answer Supplier            Internal