• IFSQN Active
  • 17 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 01 June 2022 - 10:34 AM

Greetings all,

I have had some experience with ATP devices for verifying production lines being clean etc, however this was a number of years ago.

Id like to demonstrate the value of such a device to a business and have sourced a unit (on loan) to undertake a demonstration.

If i recall correctly high care / high risk environments would usually have pass fail marginal value of around 100 300 500 RLU and low care well i honestly cant recall but was a lot higher...

I have had a play around and have undertaken a full 6 stage clean on a packing table (SS) in high care packing, which is fairly old with many light scratches on but its yielding around 500 ish RLU 

I believe i would need to validate the use of ATP machine if i actually purchase te unit which would yield more accurate readings once i have enough data, but would ask anyone that is currently using these devices what sort of target values you are using for each type of area to give me an idea if im in the right ball park.

Cheers....

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,486 posts
  • 1511 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 01 June 2022 - 12:42 PM

did you swab post clean but pre sanitizer?

I am in a low risk arena---our average value on food contact surfaces is roughly 70 RLU on UHMW surfaces

500 seems very high---high enough to want to reevaluate cleaning methods, including chemical concentrations 

Light scratches in a SS surface shouldn't prevent the effectiveness of the cleaning when done properly--take a look at the process again

I think you could justify the cost by explaining what you have found already---the facility isn't as clean as it ought to be and by being able to swab and get a quantifiable number, you can save them money by maintaining or even increasing shelf life as well as helping to reduce general contamination

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Charles.C