• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 03 March 2023 - 02:10 PM

Hello All,

This is my first time using this site.  I have read various different topics and trully appreciate having a site were you can go and see the suggestions, guidance and feedback provided.

I am writing today as I am not completely understanding the SQF request for Supplier Approval with regards to Section 2.3.3.

The auditor dinged me last year becuase I didn't have a supplier evaluation survye sent.  I am stuck becuase I see the suppliers as being office supplies, cleaning supplies, maintenance vendors.  However, I am not sure if the acutal customers who store product would be on this list or even transportation providers.  I have been looking on line and reading to find the correct supplier evaluation and supplier re-evaluation survey form to use but I seem to keep finding surveys that are for manufacturing facilities.  Any guidance on evaluation survey forms would greatly be appreciated.  

Thank you in advance for your time.

SHQuality

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 317 posts
  • 46 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands

Posted 03 March 2023 - 02:23 PM

I am stuck becuase I see the suppliers as being office supplies, cleaning supplies, maintenance vendors.  However, I am not sure if the acutal customers who store product would be on this list or even transportation providers. 

Hi Janet.

I work with BRC myself, so I'm not sure what terminology SQF uses, but my initial thought was that you were confusing service providers with suppliers.

Whenever you're talking about a company that delivers a physical product to you, you are required to ensure consistent quality of that product by setting certain specifications you and the supplier both agree to.

For office supplies, that means "I will buy only blue metal-detectable pens of brand X" while the requirements for ingredients can get quite extensive and complicated.