• Quick Navigation
Photo

How can I turn around a poor Food Safety Culture?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic
- - - - -

mariagrazia23

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 09 March 2023 - 09:36 PM

My challenging daily task is trying to have everyone work as a Food culture.

As a FS Manager, I am the only person who solely cares about Food Culture. I can do all the training with every department in the plant yet nobody regress back to old habits or i have no management support.

How can I turn this around?

Shipping, Receiving, Sales and Marketing is more important than Food Safety and Food Quality.

Madam A. D-tor

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 644 posts
  • 230 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands
  • Interests:meat, meat products, ready to eat, food safety, QMS, audits, hazard analyses, IFS, BRC, SQF, HACCP, ISO 9001, ISO 22000

Posted 10 March 2023 - 07:34 AM

As we know, managers are always keen on financial results and reputation in the market.

So if you want their attention, 'translate' quality and food safety parameters into financial figures. 

If you give me your main worries and the complaint you receive the most, I can try to give you an example.

Kind Regards,

Madam A. D-tor

SHQuality

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 317 posts
  • 46 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands

Posted 10 March 2023 - 10:45 AM

One of the things my employer doesn't seem to realize is that complaints are far more expensive that laboratory testing.

kfromNE

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,071 posts
  • 294 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Bicycling, reading, nutrition, trivia

Posted 10 March 2023 - 01:03 PM