Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Can we use vegan claims on our organic products in Canada?

Share this

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

HYBRIDIZED

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 58 posts
  • 6 thanks
7
Neutral

  • Canada
    Canada

Posted 05 June 2023 - 02:42 PM

Hello, 

 

Can we use vegan claim on our organic products in Canada ?

 

Do we need any certification for it  or a claim can be made without any certification  because all the ingredients in our products are completely vegan. 

 

Thanks



Scampi

    Fellow

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,627 posts
  • 1541 thanks
1,658
Excellent

  • Canada
    Canada
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 05 June 2023 - 03:47 PM

The official statement from CFIA is "All label claims must be truthful and not misleading"

 

So as long as you can support your label claim when CFIA does an inspection, there is no issue with labelling it as such

 

You could get certified-----the benefit being the diehard vegans may look for certification


Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs


jfrey123

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 739 posts
  • 199 thanks
370
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sparks, NV

Posted 05 June 2023 - 04:23 PM

Seems Canada is slightly more stringent than the US definitions of Vegan, which is to say FDA is aware "vegan" is a thing and they want no part in regulating it.  If you're going to go as far as throwing that word on your packaging, I'd make sure you have a program in place that truly verifies the ingredients aren't in any way involved in the slaughter of animals as someone batting for that team will eventually want to claim you didn't do enough to check your ingredients:  some random side ingredient having gelatin from pork skin or something obscure could bite you in the rear if you're not careful.

 

Food composition and quality claims - Canadian Food Inspection Agency (canada.ca)

 

Vegetarian and vegan claims

For vegetarians, in addition to plant foods such as fruits, vegetables, grains and nuts, their diet may include animal products not derived from slaughter, such as eggs, milk and cheese. Animal products resulting from slaughter, such as animal/fish flesh, bone, stock, fats and gelatin, are not, by definition, included in a vegetarian or vegan diet.

The CFIA would not object to the general term "vegetarian" to describe foods that are suitable for any one of the types of vegetarian diets.

For example:

  • lacto-ovo (or ovo-lacto)-vegetarian - permits plant foods plus dairy and egg
  • lacto-vegetarian - permits plant foods plus dairy, no eggs
  • ovo-vegetarian - permits plant foods plus eggs, no dairy

If any of the vegetarian claims above or other type of vegetarian claims are being made on a food, the food is expected to contain only ingredients derived from the sources included in that type of diet.

While a vegan diet or foods are made from only plant-based ingredients, it is also recognized that several definitions of "vegan" exist. When making claims on a food, companies can apply additional criteria or standards that take account of other factors in addition to the ingredients of the food.

 

Take this definition from one of the Trademarked Vegan certifiers as an example of what people "expect" when they read "vegan" on a label:

Best Vegan Certification Trademark. ISO Accredited. V-Logo apply. (beveg.com)

Vegan means no animal ingredients or by-products used in the manufacturing process before packaging of the proposed Vegan product, and confirms that the processing aids used and process applied to making the final BeVeg certified Vegan product is also Vegan. BeVeg asks for disclosures for all “incidental” and “insignificant” ingredients, including natural flavorings and natural colorings. Likewise, source ingredient manufacturers to listed parent ingredients are also investigated to ensure Vegan integrity is maintained. For example, if sugar is used, proof that the manufacturer uses zero bone char (often disguised as “natural charcoal”) is required.





Share this

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users