• Quick Navigation
Photo

Is lipstick a GMP issue in the food industry?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

SauceManinKS

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 9 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 21 June 2023 - 02:35 PM

Hey Team, 

I'm new to this industry and had a question. nail polish, fake nails, jewelry are all big no no's when it comes to GMP's. but what about make up and lipstick? what are the food industry standards when it comes to this???

Thanks everyone for all your support. 

KSsauceMan

jcieslowski

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 196 posts
  • 62 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 21 June 2023 - 03:15 PM

The thought process is that fake nails break and nail polish chips off and they can end up in food.  Same with false lashes or jewelry.  We disallow all of that.  I'm not familiar with any case of other makeup falling or flaking off.  If it did, it would certainly fall into the same category.  It might be a case by case basis if someone has so much makeup on that it's falling off, it would need to be addressed.  

Setanta

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,611 posts
  • 371 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 21 June 2023 - 03:22 PM

I can't recall hearing about any recalls or product withdrawals on this. I can't imagine that if lip chap sticks aren't an issue, lipstick would be.
YMMV

-Setanta         

Brothbro

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 363 posts
  • 115 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Aimlessly browsing the internet

Posted 21 June 2023 - 04:02 PM