• IFSQN Active
  • 7 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Ireland
    Ireland

Posted 13 October 2023 - 01:46 PM

Hello everyone,

I work as a packaging compliance for a company in Ireland, and we recently had a question about the term 'bake' that we use for our orzo bake product. Some have suggested that we cannot label a product as a 'Bake' unless the recommended cooking method is the oven. However, our product is a ready meal with microwave-only heating instructions.

I did some research, but I couldn't find any specific EU or other legal requirements related to the term 'bake.' I want to ensure that we are compliant with using this name for our product. Any insights or information on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, 
Emily

SoupsNStuff

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 51 posts
  • 11 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 13 October 2023 - 06:31 PM

I couldn't find a regulatory labeling standard for that word, so take this as just my logic:

According to the Oxford Dictionary:
bake noun
​a dish consisting of mixed ingredients that is cooked in the oven

I would think as long as it is baked in the manufacturing process, you can argue it isn't inaccurate or misleading. Do those suggesting otherwise have a regulation they are basing their point off of or just opinion? 

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,515 posts
  • 1515 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 13 October 2023 - 06:52 PM

That sounds like a legal gray area

like when subway got taken to court (and lost) because their foot long sub wasn't 12 inches once baked but was when it was frozen

So from a regulatory standpoint, you're best bet is to ensure your packaging is "truthful and not misleading"

and just because you cannot find it specifically, doesn't make it legal---they will find a way

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

jfrey123

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 639 posts
  • 182 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States