• IFSQN Associate
  • 25 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Peru
    Peru

Posted 18 December 2023 - 06:25 PM

Hello Food Safety Professionals,

I am new to dietary supplements and I have a non conformance from our audit because of this requirement (Posted below). I have explained to the auditor that we do testing for identity every time a new supplier is going to be approve. However, the are insistent that we need to test every batch. We are a small company and to test every batch is 350 dollar per ingredient. Also, I read to the auditor that it says it is only for dietary ingredients, but she insistent that it has to be for all ingredients that are aim to produce the dietary supplement. 

Can you give me any idea on how you comply with this requirement or how do i get an exemption, if somebody have apply to that. Very much appreciated.

§ 111.75 What must you do to determine whether specifications are met?

(a) Before you use a component, you must:

(1)

(i) Conduct at least one appropriate test or examination to verify the identity of any component that is a dietary ingredient, unless you petition the agency under paragraph (a)(1)(ii) of this section and the agency exempts you from such testing;