• Quick Navigation
Photo

Does Food Safety consider chronic as well as acute health effects?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Simon

IFSQN...it's My Life

• IFSQN Admin
  • 12,856 posts
  • 1366 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Married to Michelle, Father of three boys (Oliver, Jacob and Louis). I enjoy cycling, walking and travelling, watching sport, especially football and Manchester United. Oh and I love food and beer and wine.

Posted 12 May 2009 - 08:19 PM

I’m studying Health & Safety at the moment and one of the things that came to my mind is that Health & Safety considers the acute (immediate) health effects of a hazard and the chronic (long term) effects. For example a single large dose exposure to a certain chemical could cause a person to experience nausea and asphyxiation (recoverable) and long term exposure to the same chemical at low dosage could cause cancer (possibly not recoverable). When assessing the risks and control measures for working safely with the chemical we must consider both.

In my mind food safety only deals with acute health effects – am I right?

Get FREE bitesize education with IFSQN webinar recordings.

Download this handy excel for desktop access to over 180 Food Safety Friday's webinar recordings.
https://www.ifsqn.com/fsf/Free%20Food%20Safety%20Videos.xlsx

Check out IFSQN’s extensive library of FREE food safety videos
https://www.ifsqn.com/food_safety_videos.html

Erasmo

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 135 posts
  • 19 thanks
Neutral

• Mexico
    Mexico

Posted 12 May 2009 - 10:06 PM

Yes.
When you assess the severity of identified hazards it does not matter if the hazard cause an inmediate effect (allergen, E. Coli, etc.) or is a long term effect (aflatoxins, bromates, cadmium, etc.)

The other aspect bo be evaluated is probability. (7.4.3 ISO-22000)

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,915 posts