• IFSQN Associate
  • 28 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, Internet, Science, Music, Art

Posted 04 June 2010 - 06:32 PM

Ok, just had a Herculean task dropped in my lap, and I'm not sure I'm up to the challange. I was just informed that my bosses want me to train all the other technicians in QA about microbiology.
Now let me put this in context.

Me:
I have a Bio degree and I understand the area of micro pretty well I think, at least in the basics and theory. Everything practical I know, however, was learned on the job at various sites, all of which had different standards and methods.

Them:
These are all union workers who have been here for decades. Many of them don't have more than a high school degree and are old enough to be my parents, if not older. They got their positions in the lab due to seniority, and not because of what they know.
This training is taking place because of a dispute between management and the union. Basically the idea is that if everyone is paid the same, they should all know the same things, even if they never have to do them.

So now I have to figure out a way to train all these people from square one in a short period of time what others go to college for 4 years to learn, and what I have only learned piecemeal over the years. Before I try and start blazing a trail through the information swamp of google and the internet, is anyone aware of any good online resources/training materials I could access to make this go smoother?

Any help is much appreciated.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 05 June 2010 - 08:08 AM

Dear Gao Yu Qing,

My first reaction to yr post is "Watch your back ! :smile: " It looks like someone is trying to pass the buck on to you in a big way.

The scope as you write it looks almost insurmountable in a short time frame.

Do you have a budget ??