Inesa

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 189 posts
  • 65 thanks
Neutral

• Denmark
    Denmark
  • Interests:Children and a Cat, FS, Ballroom Dance, Comedy, "Sofa+tea+cookie" relax, walk in nature, still play in sandbox...

Posted 17 October 2010 - 07:44 PM

Dear all,

I'm a student and I'm doing an assignment about cleaning and disinfection programmes for cooked ham producing factory. According to a book I found in the library, the most suitable sanitizers in meat industry are those: chlorine containing, active iodine solutions, the quaternary ammonium compounds (Quats) and acid sanitizers. Then there is suggested that organic disinfectants should be used in cleaning slaughter area.

Can anyone tell me:
1- what is a difference between organic and inorganic disinfectants? Why it's organic dis. that should be used for slaughter area?
2- what single kind of disinfectant to choose? (I'm thinking about choosing chlorine containing or Quats. Which is better? )

I have it difficult to find information for this topic... Would be great if anyone could explain me this.

Thank You in advance

Inesa

Just as appetite comes by eating, so work brings inspiration, if inspiration is not discernible at the beginning. (Igor Stravinsky)

Simon

IFSQN...it's My Life

• IFSQN Admin
  • 12,826 posts
  • 1363 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Married to Michelle, Father of three boys (Oliver, Jacob and Louis). I enjoy cycling, walking and travelling, watching sport, especially football and Manchester United. Oh and I love food and beer and wine.

Posted 19 October 2010 - 01:02 PM

Can anyone help Inesa with this project?

Get FREE bitesize education with IFSQN webinar recordings.

Download this handy excel for desktop access to over 180 Food Safety Friday's webinar recordings.
https://www.ifsqn.com/fsf/Free%20Food%20Safety%20Videos.xlsx

Check out IFSQN’s extensive library of FREE food safety videos
https://www.ifsqn.com/food_safety_videos.html

Inesa