• Quick Navigation
Photo

UK Labelling Legislation - Where do I start?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 February 2011 - 08:02 PM

I have to admit to a bit of a black hole on labelling legislation and as I'm soon to be joining a small company, the Technical expertise might just stop with me. So, I need to improve...

I also thought that this is probably a bit of a black hole for lots of us. I'm ok on weight legislation, HACCP and general food safety but it's difficult to look through the legislation and pick out the things you need and convert them into language I can understand (which is sad considering I have a PhD).

Anyhoo... I thought I'd start this thread with a couple of questions I've been pondering to see if our combined expertise can answer them. Perhaps other people can add to this thread if they think of things that are gaps in their knowledge regarding labelling.

So.

On QUID, why are certain ingredients picked out for the quantitative declaration? Is it the ingredients in the "name" of the food? Are there any guidelines?

Nutritional information displayed on pack. Does this have to be on experimental results? Actually, I know it doesn't. Having worked in cheese, I was shocked that standardised values were used, (apparently legally). What other exceptions are there? What is the rule? I'm thinking nutritional is pretty pricey so I want to get a gauge on what is really needed.

I'm sure I'll think of more.

Simon

IFSQN...it's My Life

• IFSQN Admin
  • 12,836 posts
  • 1363 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Married to Michelle, Father of three boys (Oliver, Jacob and Louis). I enjoy cycling, walking and travelling, watching sport, especially football and Manchester United. Oh and I love food and beer and wine.