• IFSQN Associate
  • 34 posts
  • 8 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:17 PM

Hello fellow IFSQN-(ers) :D

I need some help regarding the microbial limits or typical microbial loads on treated (irradiated) spices and herbs. There doesn't seem to be much regarding acceptable counts for irradiated product assuming of course, the product was not re-contaminated post-treatment. Does anyone here have some expertise on the subject? I'm looking at APC,Y/M, and Coliforms.

Thank you!

p.s. Where does everyone get their emojis from?! ...-->newbie here :/

MWidra

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 778 posts
  • 314 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:My Dogs (Beagles),Gardening, SciFi, Video Games (WoW, D3, HoS, PvZ), Classical Music, Legal Stuff, Science Stuff. I'm a Geeky Nerd.

Posted 07 January 2015 - 10:02 PM

QATX12, I would think that the standard for irradiated spices and herbs should be the same as for non-irradiated spices and herbs.  How the material got clean, either by radiation or some other kind of kill step is not important, only the sterility status.

And, once you have made the correct number of posts, you can become a full member and the emoticons magically are activated in the posting area.

Welcome, you've joined a very helpful group who are super people.  Have fun exploring all the topics in the forum.

:welcome:

Martha

"...everything can be taken from a man but one thing:  the last of the human freedoms--to choose one's attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one's own way."  Viktor E. Frankl

"Life's like a movie, write your own ending."  The Muppets

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 07 January 2015 - 10:04 PM