Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 22 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 31 May 2015 - 08:43 PM

Hi all, I am just starting out learning HACCP and have a question about a metal detector

The application is Candy Mint Manufacturing. 

We want to get a metal detector to scan the mint before packaging. The reason is that the package has a foil wrapper. So if we get a metal detector before entering the packing machine and there is an issue with the Metal Detector and we need to go back to the last verification time and hold all the product since then, the product will already be wrapped in foil and will have to be disposed of. The only option I see is to get an X-Ray type detector after packaging. They are twice the price and not as accurate from what I hear. We have yet to buy a Detector and want to make sure we dont get the wrong type. Any Input?

Thanks, Mike

Philip Jones

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 38 posts
  • 12 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 June 2015 - 12:01 PM

Hi Mike,

There is probably no other single control point raising questions than metal detection and metal detectors. A  properly designed and understood risk assessment and decision tree used in conjunction with a good dollop of common sense is an absolute requirement.

I will try and cover the thought process though, not following the rigours of the decision tree.

1. Where is any metal contamination  going to come from, what type of metal and what size(s) of fragment.

2. Can these be eliminated or controlled so they are not a risk to a consumer of the candy?

3 If not, I would assume you are not regularly contamination your product on an ongoing basis, so, in the event of a metal detector failure,  can you identify (through inspection for example) whether something has failed and contamination occurred, e.g. missing bits of a mixer blade.