• IFSQN Active
  • 17 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 24 June 2015 - 09:36 PM

Hello forum, 

First, I am brand new to the food safety world in general, and am trying to learn as much as possible. This has been a very valuable resource so far - You all know so much!

I work for a small frozen dessert manufacturer. We recently had a full certificate of analysis completed for a no-bake product that falls into the category of frozen dairy dessert. 

TWO MAIN QUESTIONS:

#1 --> Everything looks good and within acceptable limits, but I am not sure about the limits for this type of product re: Aerobic Plate Count. The results were 600 CFU/g. The lab noted that this is an "estimated result." This seems high to me, but I haven't been able to find anything stating what acceptable limits for this type of product should be. 

Can anyone provide me with some insight here? I have read that APC may be useful for trend analysis, but is not applicable to live fermented products. Is this true, and if so, why? Shouldn't we still be able to glean some information from an APC count? Or do we just not include this test in our full COAs moving forward?

#2 --> Where do we start with determining what tests we should be doing for our finished products, and what acceptable limits are for each (we make many different types of desserts, including pies, cheesecakes, cakes, and these no-bake frozen dairy desserts)? Are there guidelines somewhere that I just haven't been able to put my finger on?

Thank you kindly for any help you're able to provide, 

Rebecca

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 24 June 2015 - 10:05 PM

Hi rebecca,

Most companies have something called a Product Specification for their output. This typically includes microbiological limits and should answer yr question as to acceptability..