• IFSQN Member
  • 59 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• Belgium
    Belgium

Posted 10 October 2018 - 10:50 AM

Hi all,

We have a new employee that will be active in the production site with an nose ring.

Is it enough to let her instead wear a nosestone and tape it off or does she needs to remove the piercing in total?

She explains that it is not possible to remove it fully because it will fester then.

Someone advice regarding this topic?

TL:DR:

Employee with piercing stone can't remove it. Is taping her piercing off with blue tape enough?

Greetings

Edit: We are BRC certified. So it needs to be BRC conform.

Edited by Adolf von Liebenberg, 10 October 2018 - 10:51 AM.

Lesley.Roberts

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 165 posts
  • 77 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 October 2018 - 10:56 AM

Hi there Adolf - there was a post on diath piercings last week that will give you the answers you need.

I'm a group quality manager & have my nose pierced - both sides but I NEVER wear these at work, would not set the right example...... and my nose never "festers" without the rings in...... what she is telling you is not true.

I would not allow wearing of nose rings in any of our factories (as per BRC) & if the lady doesn't want to remove her piercing, then perhaps the food industry is not the right industry for her?...

Thanked by 1 Member:

pHruit

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,071 posts
  • 849 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 10 October 2018 - 11:48 AM

Fully agree with Lesley; I have two staff with nose rings and these are not permitted on site. Once piercings are healed (within a few weeks after they're first done) it should not cause any problem to remove rings/studs.