• IFSQN Associate
  • 10 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 28 January 2019 - 09:37 PM

Hi all,

So I am quite deep into writing, teaching, and implementing HACCP plans at the bakery I am at, and having a bit of  a mental break:

A. Yes, we will be sending some product off to labs, so this is preliminary to that

B. I have always avoided/minimized having product "working" for long periods in the time/ temp danger zone like the plague- my background is DOH, not FDA. 

However, we have several processes (mainly specific to cookie/ dough/ batter mixes) where our process holds/is working with UNBAKED dough for a period longer than 2 hours btw 40-140. I understand 2 hours is conservative. But, my point is, we have a kill step (baking, and far beyond 160 F ), so even if our batter is out for longer than 2 hours ( closer to 3) we should be ok? 

As a matter of labor efficiency/ general feeling good about our processes, I am pushing teams to push for the 2 hour mark. But how concerned should I be and/or will FDA be if they see that we have items which are held out beyond the 2 hour mark?

If the 2 hours does matter, my ultimate Q is how on earth everyone proofs their bread/ croissant within that time w the quality they want? 

I understand that the danger zone is really for finished product, but have been dinged by DOH before on product in prep if it took longer. Maybe just an overzealous inspector but wanted to check and make sure I am not totally thinking about it wrong.

Sorry, I understand it's all a bit circular and redundant. But these are the thoughts keeping me awake at night! 

Best,

Natalie

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 28 January 2019 - 09:44 PM

Hi all,

So I am quite deep into writing, teaching, and implementing HACCP plans at the bakery I am at, and having a bit of  a mental break: