• Quick Navigation
Photo

Do we have too many GMP policies and procedures?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic
- - - - -

lara_80

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 43 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:14 PM

Okay, I am new to the food manufacturing piece of SQF. I have done distributing and Food Packaging materials but in my new company we process oils. The problem I am seeing here is they have so many SOP's to me it is just overkill. For example GMP's have over ten individual SOP's. I have never seen this before, I have always just had one GMP policy for the facility that was inclusive. Am I missing something that would be different in a food production plant to have so many. I know they have passed past audits but barely and the auditor always had comments about the confusion and lack of organization of the system. Please help. Here is just a short list of the GMP's they have individual SOP's for: GMP overview, GMP attire, GMP color coding,GMP facility, GMP Hand washing, GMP illiness, GMP levels, GMP Staff amenities.......

greencheese

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 10 October 2019 - 05:20 PM

We sperate out our documents the GMP program we employ is a policy and covers all of the areas listed above. Then we have specific SOPs that are actual procedures that take place in the facility, some of the time these procedures are already listed in one of our policies but usually we just include a reference to the appropriate policy in the document.

mgourley

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,403 posts
  • 997 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Cooking, golf, firearms, food safety and sanitation.

Posted 10 October 2019 - 08:58 PM