• Quick Navigation
Photo

SQF 2.3.2.3 - example procedure for developing and approving specifications for ingredients, raw and packaging materials

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Avryl

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 28 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 06 July 2020 - 06:39 PM

Hi guys, I am new to the SQF and I have been stocked on the procedure for developing and approving specifications for ingredients, raw and packaging materials. Does anyone has an example for that? I am confused and not sure whether or not to create my own specifications and got too lost in this whole section. It would be a great help if anyone can shed me some light on this. Thank you :)

olenazh

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,364 posts
  • 439 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada
  • Interests:My job, church, reading, gym, horror movies

Posted 06 July 2020 - 07:06 PM

You don't need to create your own specs for incoming ingredients, raw & packaging materials. I'm not with SQF but that's just common sense, isn't it? What's needed to be done with the specs is to review them to ensure completeness (e.g. nutrition, allergen chart, shelf life, storage conditions, country of origin, micro/chemical/physical characteristics, etc.) and compliance to your internal policies/programs, regulatory standards and GFSI (in your case - SQF) requirements.

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,674 posts
  • 1141 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 06 July 2020 - 07:13 PM

1. Welcome!

2. What does the word "Stocked" mean in this context?