• Quick Navigation
Photo

Sandwich Shelf life - micro results interpretation

Share this

Best Answer , 24 June 2021 - 10:34 AM

Hi mer1in,

Thks for the report.

Based on experiences in various disputes over micro. results, it is "risky" to interpret data such as in yr report without knowing how the data was obtained/calculated. Nonetheless I have offered a few general comments below.

Is cheese the only food ingredient  in the sandwich ?

I'm not a cheese expert but APC measurements are apparently not applicable to certain cheeses, eg cheddar, stilton, brie.

Some of the micro. results, eg APC, look so odd that the methodology(s) used seem questionable. More information is needed regarding procedures involved.

Just for example, -

(1) Getting an identical positive value of APC for so many different samples (and replicates) is highly improbable unless some peculiar calculation or Procedure was performed.
(2) I deduce a plate count method was used for Coliform. IMEX this can give unreliable results for certain types of product. IMO MPN methods are preferable.
(3) It seems a plate count method was also used for (generic) E.coli. This is usually evaluated via MPN due to the low values typically involved.
(4) For S.aureus, a similar comment as given for E.coli in (3) also applies.

Yr location is unknown however, offhand, I would consider looking for another lab to compare results using a known procedure..

Thanks Charles, your inputs were very informative. We used automated methods in our lab & seems like some factors during testing procedure were hindering the accuracy of APC results.

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic
- - - - -

mer1in

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 15 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 25 October 2020 - 07:47 AM

Hi all,