Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Is Gluten an allergen for Beer?

Allergen

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 79 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 03:40 AM

Dear friends. Will be a Beer made from Barely possess Gluten allergen in the end product. Are any other allergen present in Beer. Please provide your thoughts. Yours, Mohan


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


kingstudruler1

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 249 posts
  • 93 thanks
55
Excellent

  • United States
    United States

Posted 11 February 2021 - 05:30 AM

yes, beer from made from barley, wheat, or rye would contain gluten

if there are other allergen present would depend on the blend. for instance, nut flavored beers are popular and contain
allergenic nut protein



Roshni

    Grade - AIFSQN

  • IFSQN Active
  • 29 posts
  • 3 thanks
3
Neutral

  • Australia
    Australia
  • Gender:Female

Posted 11 February 2021 - 06:11 AM

Hi Mohan, Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley and rye. People may develop intolerance to gluten but that is not considered an allergy. Considering gluten or barley as an allergen is something worth discussing. I haven't come across beer manufacturing company declaring gluten as an allergen. 

 

Also worth considering is presence of allergen from external sources such as at suppliers end during processing of barley, bringing food which include allergens.


Regards

 

Roshni

 

 

"Everyone is responsible for food safety"


pHruit

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,823 posts
  • 725 thanks
436
Excellent

  • United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 11 February 2021 - 09:59 AM


Are any other allergen presence in Beer.

 

Some beers (and indeed wines) are made using fining agents that contain fish (isinglass) or egg albumen, so could be another potential allergen.



Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 79 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:38 AM

Some beers (and indeed wines) are made using fining agents that contain fish (isinglass) or egg albumen, so could be another potential allergen.

Agree with you on the fining agents. Sure, there is a chance of contamination. Ingredient assessment will solve on this


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 79 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:41 AM

Hi Mohan, Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley and rye. People may develop intolerance to gluten but that is not considered an allergy. Considering gluten or barley as an allergen is something worth discussing. I haven't come across beer manufacturing company declaring gluten as an allergen. 

 

Also worth considering is presence of allergen from external sources such as at suppliers end during processing of barley, bringing food which include allergens.

Agree with you Roshini.

As we use Barley, can it express allergicity in end product at consumer. Whats your views?

 

In India, too, no manufacturer declaring it on label.  


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 79 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:43 AM

yes, beer from made from barley, wheat, or rye would contain gluten

if there are other allergen present would depend on the blend. for instance, nut flavored beers are popular and contain
allergenic nut protein

Hi, is any US Beer manufacturer's declare Gluten on label? Here we are wont. 


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


Setanta

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,267 posts
  • 311 thanks
252
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 11 February 2021 - 12:36 PM

Hi, is any US Beer manufacturer's declare Gluten on label? Here we are wont. 

 

 

There are Gluten-Free beers in the US that declare their GF status, but to my knowledge none label their beer as HAVING Gluten.  I'll need to do more research.  :beer:


-Setanta         

 

 

 


Scampi

    Fellow

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 3,904 posts
  • 1062 thanks
732
Excellent

  • Canada
    Canada
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 February 2021 - 01:00 PM

Looks like Canada is going to have to start labelling the allergens greated than 10ppm

 

Labelling requirements for alcoholic beverages
Food allergens, gluten and added sulphite labelling – Alcoholic beverages

Added allergens, gluten sources and sulphites at a level of 10 ppm or more must be declared when present in alcoholic beverages [B.01.010.1(2), FDR]. This requirement applies to bourbon whisky and standardized alcoholic beverages, even though these are exempt from declaring a list of ingredients [B.01.008(2)(f), FDR]. It also applies to unstandardized alcoholic beverages. Beer is no longer exempt from declaring food allergens, gluten source and added sulphites. For more information on how to declare these on beer labels during the transition period until December 13, 2022, see Product specific information for beer.


Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs


emportllc

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 22 posts
  • 7 thanks
9
Neutral

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:gluten-free food, crossword puzzles, being outside

Posted 17 February 2021 - 05:12 PM

Just want to point out some language usage that differs country by country: 

 

In India "Cereals containing gluten" are grouped as an allergen. Specifically the regulations published in November 2020 mention: "wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt or their hybridized strains and products of these (To be declared as name of the cereal)". This would indicate to me that any beer brewed with any of those grains would need to be labeled as containing the specific cereals it was brewed with. I am not entirely clear on when these regulations came into effect or if there are additional considerations for fermented foods.

 

In the US wheat is considered an allergen and is subject to all the FALCPA/FSMA allergen regulations - but gluten is a separate issue with a separate set of regulations. A beer that contains barley but not wheat is not subject to allergen labeling. However, it also cannot be called gluten-free.  

 

Hope that helps!



Emily Kaufman  
Emport, LLC
More safe food, more happy people

866.509.4482 • 718.717.2353
emilyk@emportllc.com • emportllc.com

 


smgendel

    Grade - AIFSQN

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 31 posts
  • 11 thanks
9
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 17 February 2021 - 05:44 PM

It is important to recognize that in the US beer made from barley malt and hops is not regulated by FDA.  Those are Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (part of the Treasury Department) products with labeling requirements from that agency.  Beer made from other grains  are FDA regulated and need to comply with FDA labeling regulations.  The FDA has a regulation that defines when products can claim to be gluten-free, including considerations for products made through fermentation.  Detailed information is available on the agency web site. 



Setanta

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,267 posts
  • 311 thanks
252
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 28 September 2021 - 11:49 AM

In general, in practice, it is infrequent to observe an allergy to beer.

 

Based on what data? 


-Setanta         

 

 

 


kfromNE

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 647 posts
  • 192 thanks
166
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Bicycling, reading, nutrition, trivia

Posted 28 September 2021 - 12:42 PM

It is important to recognize that in the US beer made from barley malt and hops is not regulated by FDA.  Those are Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (part of the Treasury Department) products with labeling requirements from that agency.  Beer made from other grains  are FDA regulated and need to comply with FDA labeling regulations.  The FDA has a regulation that defines when products can claim to be gluten-free, including considerations for products made through fermentation.  Detailed information is available on the agency web site. 

What I was going to say. We make beer brats. As part of their regulations, there are food safety regulations but allergens are not part of it. We get an allergen statement from them. The general rule to go by: if the ingredients are either wheat, barley or rye - it contains gluten. Generally ciders and maybe a few others are considered gluten free. For those with celiac disease (can't tolerate gluten) - they avoid beers with gluten in them.



NickGuliver

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 05 October 2021 - 02:54 PM

 

In general, in practice, it is infrequent to observe an allergy to beer. But there are cases when beer contains egg white, which can be another potential allergen. Honestly, I didn't know this before. I bought some beer. Until my friend started working in belmark.com , and he began to produce labels for beer. I was interested in the concept of the tag, and I looked at the composition. It turned out that there are beers that can cause allergies in certain people. Beer contains various dyes and additives, and you may be allergic to them.

I think this is for you


Edited by NickGuliver, 05 October 2021 - 02:57 PM.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users