Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Is Gluten an allergen for Beer?

Allergen

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mohan@

Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 78 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 03:40 AM

Dear friends. Will be a Beer made from Barely possess Gluten allergen in the end product. Are any other allergen present in Beer. Please provide your thoughts. Yours, Mohan


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


#2 kingstudruler1

kingstudruler1

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 154 posts
  • 60 thanks
32
Excellent

  • United States
    United States

Posted 11 February 2021 - 05:30 AM

yes, beer from made from barley, wheat, or rye would contain gluten

if there are other allergen present would depend on the blend. for instance, nut flavored beers are popular and contain
allergenic nut protein



#3 Roshni

Roshni

    Grade - AIFSQN

  • IFSQN Active
  • 29 posts
  • 3 thanks
3
Neutral

  • Australia
    Australia
  • Gender:Female

Posted 11 February 2021 - 06:11 AM

Hi Mohan, Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley and rye. People may develop intolerance to gluten but that is not considered an allergy. Considering gluten or barley as an allergen is something worth discussing. I haven't come across beer manufacturing company declaring gluten as an allergen. 

 

Also worth considering is presence of allergen from external sources such as at suppliers end during processing of barley, bringing food which include allergens.


Regards

 

Roshni

 

 

"Everyone is responsible for food safety"


#4 pHruit

pHruit

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,672 posts
  • 681 thanks
379
Excellent

  • United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 11 February 2021 - 09:59 AM


Are any other allergen presence in Beer.

 

Some beers (and indeed wines) are made using fining agents that contain fish (isinglass) or egg albumen, so could be another potential allergen.



#5 Mohan@

Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 78 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:38 AM

Some beers (and indeed wines) are made using fining agents that contain fish (isinglass) or egg albumen, so could be another potential allergen.

Agree with you on the fining agents. Sure, there is a chance of contamination. Ingredient assessment will solve on this


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


#6 Mohan@

Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 78 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:41 AM

Hi Mohan, Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley and rye. People may develop intolerance to gluten but that is not considered an allergy. Considering gluten or barley as an allergen is something worth discussing. I haven't come across beer manufacturing company declaring gluten as an allergen. 

 

Also worth considering is presence of allergen from external sources such as at suppliers end during processing of barley, bringing food which include allergens.

Agree with you Roshini.

As we use Barley, can it express allergicity in end product at consumer. Whats your views?

 

In India, too, no manufacturer declaring it on label.  


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


#7 Mohan@

Mohan@

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 78 posts
  • 2 thanks
1
Neutral

  • India
    India
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Gardening, travelling,

Posted 11 February 2021 - 11:43 AM

yes, beer from made from barley, wheat, or rye would contain gluten

if there are other allergen present would depend on the blend. for instance, nut flavored beers are popular and contain
allergenic nut protein

Hi, is any US Beer manufacturer's declare Gluten on label? Here we are wont. 


Thanks Regards, Mohan Whatsapp No: +91 9743114693


#8 Setanta

Setanta

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,213 posts
  • 301 thanks
223
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 11 February 2021 - 12:36 PM

Hi, is any US Beer manufacturer's declare Gluten on label? Here we are wont. 

 

 

There are Gluten-Free beers in the US that declare their GF status, but to my knowledge none label their beer as HAVING Gluten.  I'll need to do more research.  :beer:


-Setanta         

 

 

 


#9 Scampi

Scampi

    Fellow

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 3,493 posts
  • 948 thanks
553
Excellent

  • Canada
    Canada
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 February 2021 - 01:00 PM

Looks like Canada is going to have to start labelling the allergens greated than 10ppm

 

Labelling requirements for alcoholic beverages
Food allergens, gluten and added sulphite labelling – Alcoholic beverages

Added allergens, gluten sources and sulphites at a level of 10 ppm or more must be declared when present in alcoholic beverages [B.01.010.1(2), FDR]. This requirement applies to bourbon whisky and standardized alcoholic beverages, even though these are exempt from declaring a list of ingredients [B.01.008(2)(f), FDR]. It also applies to unstandardized alcoholic beverages. Beer is no longer exempt from declaring food allergens, gluten source and added sulphites. For more information on how to declare these on beer labels during the transition period until December 13, 2022, see Product specific information for beer.


Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs


#10 emportllc

emportllc

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 16 posts
  • 6 thanks
8
Neutral

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:gluten-free food, crossword puzzles, being outside

Posted 17 February 2021 - 05:12 PM

Just want to point out some language usage that differs country by country: 

 

In India "Cereals containing gluten" are grouped as an allergen. Specifically the regulations published in November 2020 mention: "wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt or their hybridized strains and products of these (To be declared as name of the cereal)". This would indicate to me that any beer brewed with any of those grains would need to be labeled as containing the specific cereals it was brewed with. I am not entirely clear on when these regulations came into effect or if there are additional considerations for fermented foods.

 

In the US wheat is considered an allergen and is subject to all the FALCPA/FSMA allergen regulations - but gluten is a separate issue with a separate set of regulations. A beer that contains barley but not wheat is not subject to allergen labeling. However, it also cannot be called gluten-free.  

 

Hope that helps!



Emily Kaufman  
Emport, LLC
More safe food, more happy people

866.509.4482 • 718.717.2353
emilyk@emportllc.com • emportllc.com

 


#11 smgendel

smgendel

    Grade - AIFSQN

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 31 posts
  • 11 thanks
7
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 17 February 2021 - 05:44 PM

It is important to recognize that in the US beer made from barley malt and hops is not regulated by FDA.  Those are Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (part of the Treasury Department) products with labeling requirements from that agency.  Beer made from other grains  are FDA regulated and need to comply with FDA labeling regulations.  The FDA has a regulation that defines when products can claim to be gluten-free, including considerations for products made through fermentation.  Detailed information is available on the agency web site. 







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users