Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation

Video Ads


Food Safety Live 2018 Browse All

Share this page



Food Safety Live 2019 Conference Program

Join the International Food Safety & Quality Network online on Wednesday, September 04, 2019 for a series of presentations and Q & A sessions with leading industry experts. Free registration and training certificates for all attendees.


Food Safety Live 2019 How to set food safety objectives

Start Time: 11 AM London, 6.00 AM New York
Amanda Evans-Lara, Food Safety Compliance Specialist, HACCP Mentor
Food safety objectives are the goals that your food business sets around producing and providing safe and suitable food to your customers. They can be seen as the guiding principles that you can then build your food safety implementation plans around. Every policy that you develop for your food business should have an associated set of food safety (and quality) objectives. This session focuses on developing SMART objectives, communicating them to your team and reporting on the outcomes.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment (2)

Food Safety Live 2019 How to implement an effective customer complaints system

Start Time: 11.18 AM London, 6.18 AM New York
Tony Connor, Chief Technical Advisor, IFSQN
Effective complaint management requires procedures to ensure that customer complaints are captured, recorded, investigated, responded to, complaint trends are investigated, and appropriate corrective and preventive actions are taken. Complaint levels are a key performance indicator and reflect the effectiveness of the food safety management system. Customer complaints can provide an insight into site performance and any areas that may require greater focus. In this toolbox talk we will discuss the elements of a complaint management system and how analysis of complaints can provide useful information in reducing complaints by allowing you to focus on the products and lines that are causing the highest level of complaints.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to prepare for an unannounced audit

Start Time: 11.36 AM London, 6.36 AM New York
Amanda Evans-Lara, Food Safety Compliance Specialist, HACCP Mentor
Unannounced food safety audits are all part of the norm if you are required to be certified to a GFSI recognized standard.  Depending on where you are located, you may also have your local food safety regulator visit your food business without warning. This session focuses on tips to help your business prepare for an unannounced audit.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to comply with FSMA (Food Safety Modernization Act)

Start Time: 11.54 AM London, 6.54 AM New York
Patrick Bele, Technical Services Director, Mérieux NutriSciences
The FSMA was issued in 2011 and many of its various components are now enforced by the FDA (Food & Drug Administration). We will focus here on the main rule: the Preventive Controls for Human Food that is affecting most food manufacturers exporting to the USA. The presenter will provide some tricks on how to comply and will mention pitfalls to avoid. The presentation will emphasize on FDA requirements that are going beyond EU regulations and GFSI benchmarked standards. It will also include some tips on do’s and don’ts while receiving the FDA inspectors on site.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to select members for a food safety team

Start Time: 12.12 PM London, 7.12 AM New York
David Rosenblatt, Director of Training, Sher Consulting & Training

Food Safety Live 2019 How to plan and conduct a management review meeting

Start Time: 12.30 PM London, 7.30 AM New York
Vladimir Surcinski, Dipl. Ing., Quality Austria Center
This topic will focus on challenges in performing of the management review. We will mention most common mistakes made in conducting the management review, and how to deal with them. Also, you will get information on how to define time intervals for management review, what should be included there, and how to comply this process with different standard demands. With this topic we will also answer on question how to make management meeting work the best for your company.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to implement an effective employee training program

Start Time: 12.48 PM London, 7.48 AM New York
David Rosenblatt, Director of Training, Sher Consulting & Training

Food Safety Live 2019 How to choose between a metal detection and x-ray inspection

Start Time: 13.06 PM London, 8.06 AM New York
Robert Rogers, Senior Advisor Food Safety & Regulation, Mettler Toledo
Metal detection and x-ray inspection have long been the first line of defense against physical contaminants. However, vast improvements in engineering and software mean it's not immediately obvious which technology will provide the best performance.  By summarizing the key advantages and disadvantages of each, this presentation helps viewers decide which product inspection system to invest in to ensure the quality and safety of their own food and pharmaceutical products.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to get buy in from senior management, co-workers and shop floor

Start Time: 13.24 PM London, 8.24 AM New York
Dr. Brita Ball, CEO, Advancing Food Safety Culture, Brita Ball & Associates
Many food safety professionals are challenged by people at different levels of their organizations who don’t seem to put a high priority on food safety. Many of these people do not have an understanding of food safety and the associated risks to consumers or the company. To get their messages across, food safety professional need to use different approaches. In this “toolbox talk” you’ll learn different perspectives that people take and ways to communicate that will help them understand the importance of making food safety a priority and consistently following good practices whatever their jobs are.   
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to calibrate a metal detector

Start Time: 13.42 PM London, 8.42 AM New York
Robert Rogers, Senior Advisor Food Safety & Regulation, Mettler Toledo
Calibration of metal detectors is a confusing subject even down to the basic definition of calibrations. During this presentation we will be highlighting activity around metal detection systems such as calibration, validation, verification and monitoring. Discussions will include the definitions, differences and activity conducted during these activities as well as highlighting the importance of each.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to develop a positive food safety culture

Start Time: 14.00 PM London, 9.00 AM New York
Dr. Brita Ball, CEO, Advancing Food Safety Culture, Brita Ball & Associates
Every food business has a food safety culture. Forward-looking management wants a strong, positive food safety culture as it gives management confidence that products going out the door meet legislated requirements and customer specifications. How then can management get everyone in the organization to make food safety a priority?  In this “toolbox talk” you’ll learn five areas to strengthen in your operation to advance your food safety culture.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to conduct a risk assessment

Start Time: 14.18 PM London, 9.18 AM New York
Chris Domenico, Territory Manager, North America, Safefood 360º
A risk assessment model is the model used to determine the significance of hazards present in products, such as salmonella in chicken products. By estimating the probability that the hazard will be present in the product by the severity of impact on the consumer if exposed and multiplying these two values the Risk can be estimated.  This session will present how to create an effective Risk Assessment model that can be used in Supplier and Product assessment process.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to design a traceability solution using blockchain

Start Time: 14.36 PM London, 9.36 AM New York
Brett Gray, Digital Transformation Manager, DNV GL – Business Assurance
This talk is intended to be a primer for action on how transparency in the food industry can be improved through digital technologies like blockchain, to cater for operational efficiencies, sustainable capacities and accountability. During this time slot we will demystify traceability solutions through use of blockchain technology and how it is being used in the market today, based on the example of My Story for Italian wineries, followed by a Q &A.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to approve suppliers

Start Time: 14.54 PM London, 9.54 AM New York
Chris Domenico, Territory Manager, North America, Safefood 360º
Under US food law (FSMA), food businesses are required to identify and control hazards within the food supply chain. FSMA sets out the requirements for assessing and managing the risk in your supply chain. This session will entail how to: Assess the supplier site risks, determine the significances of the those risks, establish verification programs and specific controls, collect pertinent information, data and documents, make judgements and decisions, then keep records of the assessments.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to carry out a vulnerability assessment (VACCP)

Start Time: 15.12 PM London, 10.12 AM New York
Earl Arnold, Manager Food Defense/FSMA, AIB International
VACCP is defined as Vulnerability Assessment Critical Control Point. This program is assessing risk of intentional adulteration for economic gain or Food Fraud. All GFSI Schemes have requirements for food fraud prevention. They two main requirements are conducting a vulnerability assessment and if significant vulnerabilities are identified, develop mitigation strategies or control measures to reduce or eliminate the risk. Most standards do not include specific requirements for what factors need to be considered in a vulnerability assessment, how to conduct it, or how to conduct and demonstrate horizon scanning is completed. Having a well-developed vulnerability assessment that considers several factors will better protect your facility and consumers from food fraud. We will discuss some of these factors and why you may want to consider them in conducting your VACCP assessment. Additionally, How facilities can conduct horizon scanning and document this process.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to assure compressed air safety

Start Time: 15.30 PM London, 10.30 AM New York
Ruby Ochoa, President/Owner and Maria Sandoval, Microbiologist, Trace Analytics LLC
Compressed air should always be considered critical in the food manufacturing process. Ensuring safe and clean compressed air requires a thorough risk assessment, structured monitoring plans, and regular compressed air testing. Each system or facility faces unique risks from contaminants like particles, water, oil, and microorganisms. Any of the contaminants can be detrimental to the compressed air system, and the product itself. This session will focus on the use of compressed air testing to help ensure end-product safety and meeting food safety requirements and standards like ISO 8573, SQF, BRC, and Primus.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to conduct a product recall

Start Time: 15.48 PM London, 10.48 AM New York
Peg Ray, Technical Services Manager North America, AIB International
Nobody wants to be involved in a product recall, but every food operation needs to plan and prepare to handle such an event.  In this toolbox talk, we will discuss the components we need to have considered and prepared our team to execute, to ensure that such a crisis event will be effectively managed.  Being able to move quickly to retrieve all affected material and maintain targeted communications to all stakeholders affected by the event, will ensure that repairs to company reputation can be initiated and restore consumer confidence in the brand.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to implement an allergen management program

Start Time: 16.06 PM London, 11.06 AM New York
Dr. Douglas L. Marshall, Chief Scientific Officer, Eurofins Food Safety Systems
Allergenic proteins can be found in a variety of foods.  Such allergens are generally resistant to heat; therefore, you can’t “kill” them by cooking.  Sensitive individuals exposed to food allergens can experience respiratory distress potentially leading to death!  As a consequence, most regulatory jurisdictions have a zero tolerance for undeclared allergens in foods.  Overuse of allergen warning statements on labels limits consumer choice.  Such declarations are frequently ignored if allergenic food or ingredient is not listed as an ingredient.  There are four leading causes of allergen-control failures: 1) formulation failures, 2) rework control failures, 3) cleaning failures, and 4) packaging and labeling failures.  This session will highlight best practices needed to achieve effective allergen control.
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment

Food Safety Live 2019 How to implement an environmental monitoring program

Start Time: 16.24 PM London, 11.24 AM New York
Dr Kantha Channaiah, Director of Microbiology, AIB International
Microorganisms are generally introduced into the food processing environment through contaminated raw materials, pest, air, water, and employees. Hence, it is critical to monitor the hygienic environment in the food manufacturing facility for the production of high quality and safe finished food products. An environmental monitoring program (EMP) will assess the effectiveness of the overall hygienic practices in a facility and provide necessary information to prevent possible microbial contamination of food products. The EMP is designed to verify the cleaning and sanitizing frequencies, and all the programs of the GMPs. A well designed EMP of a food processing plant includes: 1. Collecting environmental samples from food contact and non-food contact surfaces, 2. Testing the collected environmental samples to identify the potential sources of contamination, 3. Initiate corrective actions to eradicate the potential harborage niches, and 4. monitoring. 
Ask a Question or Submit a Comment
EV SSL Certificate