Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 26 posts
  • 5 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:52 AM

I have a PhD in Food Science and I have plenty of book knowledge but I’m lacking in hands on experience. My co-worker has the hands on experience but is often lacking in the “why”. For me to understand something and to get staff onboard I need to know the logic or science behind our steps.

He wants us to verify our HACCP plan, which consists of cooking and cooling temps, by watching someone take a temp at some point during the day. We calibrate the thermometer weekly and we verify all temps are correct at the end of each day (cooking and cooling).

Are people really using the ability to place a probe in a piece of meat as a verification step? We have proof the individual is properly trained and management is on the floor at all times. I just can’t seem to make logic out of this one and I can’t get my staff to own it either. If there is something that I can sink my teeth into, then I can easily get others to own it as well.

Warm regards,

Jennifer

George @ Safefood 360°

Grade - SIFSQN

• Corporate Sponsor
  • 374 posts
  • 327 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:30 AM

The verification of your HACCP plan essentially means the verification of your CCP's which as you mention are cooking and cooling. Calibration of the thermometer and checking that the results are within critical limits are reasonable verification activities. The act of verification is checking that you are doing what you say you are doing on your HACCP plan.