• IFSQN Active
  • 13 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 06 August 2015 - 05:25 PM

Good Afternoon All,

First let me say that I really appreciate these forums and everyone's active responses to questions posted from around the world. Global partners in Food Safety & Quality (FSQA) will always have my thumbs up, so good job everyone! 

I am in need of some assistance. I am new to my FSQA Manager position (4+ months), wow is the vantage point from here different than in my other FSQA positions. My company is a small manufacturer of tamales and uses a base recipe that has been a part of the family for more than 40+ years. We are located in the DFW metroplex and currently have an in-house sanitation program where our production workers (1st shift) transition into a sanitation team at the end of production. We have a partial 2nd shift team who start ~12p daily and finish cooking product. At the end of 2nd shift, the team transitions into a sanitation team where a final sanitizer step is performed along with the remaining areas of the plant being cleaned. We are not BRC certified facility.

My question is this: what sanitation team would you recommend and why? I have received 3 proposals but I am still skeptical about which company to choose. I don't want to regret my decision down the road as this is a big step for the facility, a facility who hasn't previously been penalized with NRs for insanitary conditions. As we move into our busy tamale season I am 100% sure we don't have the resources to continue performing sanitation in house nor does the option for the company to hire hourly employees dedicated solely to cleaning work for us. HELP!!! I am seriously considering proposals from Alpha Cleaning and QSI. I did not bring PSSI in due to poor experiences at different facilities I have experienced.