• Quick Navigation
Photo

Considerations when RTE and raw beef processing in close proximity?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

sjs2016

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 19 February 2016 - 10:06 PM

Hi All!

I'm a QA/Reg Compliance Manager at a small USDA facility that processes raw beef and poultry. This is my first time posting, though i've been using this forum a lot over the past few months as I am relatively new to the food industry (spent the first 8 yrs or so after college working as an infectious disease biologist and decided I wanted to try something new and thought, hey, why not food??). I've found this forum to be extremely helpful, and i'm so glad to have found a community of people that are passionate about food safety and quality.

As of  now, we only process raw products, however we have been in the process of developing a RTE chicken breast. We are a fairly small facility so we have opted to contract out the cooking and processing (HPP) to another company. Presumably, the product would be returned to us after processing, sealed in a vacuum type package and we would finish back here by placing the packaged product in an outer cardboard sleeve. Has anyone had any experience with this kind of situation? I do have some RTE experience, however we cooked sliced and packaged all in the same facility so I am used to pretty stringent sanitation, monitoring procedures etc.