• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 24 January 2018 - 09:51 PM

Hi there.

I'm a QA manager at a small family owned cheese processor. We don't have a large footprint; we're SQF Level 3 certified. 

I'm having trouble wrapping my brain around the food fraud vulnerability assessment requirements for SQF in 2.5 of the System Elements. I have been looking at the tool on this website because it is frequently recommended. However, I'm a little confused:

• Is this tool meant to assess your process, your ingredient, your suppliers? 
  • How many assessments might be common for a small company with - say - 25 suppliers that only deals with two product categories (processed cheese and natural cheese)? The instructions within the tool seem to suggest that you may need several assessments for your ingredients/suppliers/process. 

I feel like I'm getting lost in the weeds on this more than necessary. 

jcieslowski

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 196 posts
  • 61 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 24 January 2018 - 10:08 PM

I think the overall question you're trying to ask is "Where might we get mislabeled food and how do we prevent it?"

It COULD be an ingredient issue - maybe you're getting mislabeled cheeses, for example.  If so, the control method is "Only buy from approved suppliers".  What other tools do you have to know you're getting what you think you're getting?  Do you perform any testing?  Do you require COAs or any documentation for specific ingredients?

brholder

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 24 January 2018 - 10:11 PM

I think the overall question you're trying to ask is "Where might we get mislabeled food and how do we prevent it?"