Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Gluten Free callout - manufactured on statement

gluten

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tspiekermeier

tspiekermeier

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
2
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 14 December 2018 - 03:09 PM

I recently came across a bag of product that states on bag that it is Gluten-Free. But then on the "manufactured on equipment shared with statement" it lists "Wheat (gluten)". 

 

Just wondering what everyone else's thoughts are on this. I used to work for a company that had multiple facilities that processed multiple grains. We had one facility that did not do any wheat products for customers who wanted to claim gluten-free on their products.

 

Were we wasting capacity by not processing wheat products at this facility or is this company in the wrong for claiming both on their package?



#2 Scampi

Scampi

    Fellow

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,831 posts
  • 774 thanks
340
Excellent

  • Canada
    Canada
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 14 December 2018 - 04:01 PM

the company MAY be in the wrong

 

  1. How is “gluten-free” defined in the rule?
    In general, foods may be labeled “gluten-free” if they meet the definition and otherwise comply with the final rule’s requirements. More specifically, the final rule defines "gluten-free" as meaning that the food either is inherently gluten free; or does not contain an ingredient that is: 1) a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat); 2) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or 3) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food. Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm.
https://www.fda.gov/...s/ucm362880.htm

 

The only way to know for sure is call the company in question as a consumer and ask them to send you information regarding the gluten free claim.  If they cannot/will not........report it to the FDA

 

No celiac in the world (at least the ones I know) would ever buy that product with that statement.........so I don't think you are wasting capacity.......you're doing right by your customer base


Because we always have is never an appropriate response!






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

EV SSL Certificate