• IFSQN Active
  • 17 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 27 April 2020 - 10:29 PM

Hi,

I'm an analyst at a primarily tech/eCommerce company that also does 3PL for a varied and changing line of products depending on clients. We are basically starting from the ground up to develop our HACCP plan.  

We have fulfilled some food items in the past and are looking to Develop a HACCP plan for products in the future.    We will only fulfill sealed/packed shelf stable goods, and we are only receiving, storing, and then fulfilling the orders for the client.

My question is one that obviously belies my neophyte status in the process, but to get started how can we do a hazard analysis/allergen analyses, etc all things that need the ingredients before we have those descriptions?

Are we able to do this with a general category of goods, given that we are never going to fulfill anything that needs refrigeration, etc etc.  We never unpack or open the goods.

Thanks for your help!  

Also any good recommendations for resources, as part of the initial steps in certification I took an online SQF course that unfortunately was much more retail specific.

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,676 posts
  • 1143 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 28 April 2020 - 02:56 AM

I can answer this part as we have a 3PL client in this kind of situation -- they handle an ever changing inventory...

You said in part:

My question is one that obviously belies my neophyte status in the process, but to get started how can we do a hazard analysis/allergen analyses, etc all things that need the ingredients before we have those descriptions? "

Answer - you would plan to have every alllergen and sensitizing agent as they apply.