• 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 June 2023 - 07:17 PM

Hello fellows, 

There is a drain issue in the new place where i work as a food safety manager, 

I am implementing SQF in a food and vegetables processing facility, 

Whoever built the cutting room placed the drain in the center of the area, where the highest gradient is, 

This means that all the overflow goes to the sides, building standing water outside the room, offices and hallway,

Upper management doesn't have the resources to rebuild the cutting room and stop production for several days to fix this issue is not possible, 

We have our SQF audit in January and our temporary solution has been mopping out the water every 4 hours, 3 times in the day, 

Will we get a non-conformance in our audit because of this? What can we do to not get one? Will be helpful a risk assessment in this case? 

Thank you so much for your insight, 

Sincerely,

Maria 

Draw

Read aloud

of 108

Brothbro

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 363 posts
  • 115 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Aimlessly browsing the internet

Posted 16 June 2023 - 10:08 PM

Well, it's good to have a documented program in place showing that you're removing the water at set intervals. Have you done any environmental sampling in this area to determine what the hazards are? This could give you some evidence that your system is working.

However, depending on the auditor, even with some evidence you could be looking at a non-conformance. Such poor drain placement that results in water even pooling into neighboring hallways would raise eyebrows during the question "Is the facility constructed in a way that promotes sanitation?" Good environmental records or no, it's just not good facility design to have drains placed on the high ground.

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,676 posts
  • 1143 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States